The Diesel Truck Site  

Go Back   The Diesel Truck Site > Diesel Truck Forums > Dodge Cummins Forum

Dodge Cummins Forum Dodge Cummins Forum


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-12-2016, 12:50 PM
kerley kerley is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 145
Default Ram OME Radio

I can not get the radio stations in clearly, always static or just low noises and no clear audio. Yesterday while setting in my truck I turned on the radio and the stations came in clear as a bell, when I started the Motor and began driving the radio began the noise again. I have read posts about Alternator static problems. I am thinking about the Ground Strap and the Radio Antenna replacement. Is there an adjustment screw in the radio to pick up stations in different logistical areas?My truck is from Nevada and I now live in Alabama. HELP
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-12-2016, 02:25 PM
anoldbiker's Avatar
anoldbiker anoldbiker is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Just South of the Mason/Dixon Line
Posts: 1,147
Default

Heck, this is asking to shake the dust out of the ears. In the old days, there use to be a static suppressor that stopped things like that. But I don't remember if it went on the power line in or the antenna wire. Use to buy them from Radio Shack for a few bucks. But I believe the static was generated from parts like the alternator and such. The frequency changed.

Being in 'bama instead of Nevada should be better for the signal. I know there are areas in Nevada where it's miles between stations.

Heck, MnTom is about my age, maybe his memory is better.
__________________
Jim

2006 Dodge Ram, 2500, Big Horn, 5.9 Cummins, 4x4, Q/Cab, 48RE, L/B, 3.73, S&B CAI & Snout, ProFlo 5" S/S exhaust, Smarty Touch, Oil ByPass Filter Kit, Transfer Flow 56 gal tank, 110 gallon in-bed tank, XX-Fuel System, Coolant Bypass Kit, Mag-Hytec front & rear, 285 x 70 x 17

We the people are the rightful masters of both Congress and the courts, not to overthrow the Constitution but to overthrow the men who pervert the Constitution.
~ Abraham Lincoln
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-12-2016, 07:01 PM
MnTom's Avatar
MnTom MnTom is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Near Duluth, Mn
Posts: 4,931
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by anoldbiker View Post

Heck, MnTom is about my age
So, what are you saying?????
Anyhow, there used to be an adjustment for tuning the radio, but that has gone the way of the Dodo bird (not that I remember them, maybe Anoldbiker might?). Sounds to me like you need to check the antenna and make sure that you have a good connection to the radio. It is possible to have a ground problem. Most noise is because either the radio or the antenna is not properly grounded. Here is a good article from Crutchfield that explains a lot about noise: http://www.crutchfield.com/S-mjilB3j...ion_guide.html
__________________
1996 RAM "Custom Ground" 100 plate 3/4 forward, 300 injectors, 16.5 timing, Goerends Auto = 365HP, 833TQ Third Gen Rims, Aluminum Headache Rack
Duct Tape can't fix stupid, BUT it can muffle the sound
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-12-2016, 09:05 PM
kerley kerley is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 145
Default Radio static

Arnoldbiker,
I,m saying "Thank you for the lead on Radio Noise Suppressors" I am a fan of Chrutchfield, they sell top shelf products.
I read the info you sent me and the first suspected devil is the ground strap I spoke of in my last Posts and that's where I will start. Thanks to all my helpful friends.
Kerley
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-12-2016, 09:07 PM
kerley kerley is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 145
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MnTom View Post
So, what are you saying?????
Anyhow, there used to be an adjustment for tuning the radio, but that has gone the way of the Dodo bird (not that I remember them, maybe Anoldbiker might?). Sounds to me like you need to check the antenna and make sure that you have a good connection to the radio. It is possible to have a ground problem. Most noise is because either the radio or the antenna is not properly grounded. Here is a good article from Crutchfield that explains a lot about noise: http://www.crutchfield.com/S-mjilB3j...ion_guide.html
Thank you MnTom.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-13-2016, 07:57 AM
anoldbiker's Avatar
anoldbiker anoldbiker is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Just South of the Mason/Dixon Line
Posts: 1,147
Default

And I'm even old enough to remember when radios had tubes in them where you could fix them by going to the local store and buying them over the counter before the local Radio Shack came to town .... what are you suggestion ? My daughter says I'm 5 days older than dirt, but age is as old as what's in ones heart ....


__________________
Jim

2006 Dodge Ram, 2500, Big Horn, 5.9 Cummins, 4x4, Q/Cab, 48RE, L/B, 3.73, S&B CAI & Snout, ProFlo 5" S/S exhaust, Smarty Touch, Oil ByPass Filter Kit, Transfer Flow 56 gal tank, 110 gallon in-bed tank, XX-Fuel System, Coolant Bypass Kit, Mag-Hytec front & rear, 285 x 70 x 17

We the people are the rightful masters of both Congress and the courts, not to overthrow the Constitution but to overthrow the men who pervert the Constitution.
~ Abraham Lincoln
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-13-2016, 08:13 AM
MnTom's Avatar
MnTom MnTom is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Near Duluth, Mn
Posts: 4,931
Default

Yea, I remember the tube testers that were in just about any hardware store you could find. I also remember turning the TV on and waiting for a few minutes for the tubes to warm up so it would come on too........
__________________
1996 RAM "Custom Ground" 100 plate 3/4 forward, 300 injectors, 16.5 timing, Goerends Auto = 365HP, 833TQ Third Gen Rims, Aluminum Headache Rack
Duct Tape can't fix stupid, BUT it can muffle the sound
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-14-2016, 06:53 AM
anoldbiker's Avatar
anoldbiker anoldbiker is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Just South of the Mason/Dixon Line
Posts: 1,147
Default

Yes ... the the best part of those days were ...
when it started screwing up, one heck of a good swat on it's side 'fixed everything'

(Heck, the same thing fixes kids when they didn't behave !)
__________________
Jim

2006 Dodge Ram, 2500, Big Horn, 5.9 Cummins, 4x4, Q/Cab, 48RE, L/B, 3.73, S&B CAI & Snout, ProFlo 5" S/S exhaust, Smarty Touch, Oil ByPass Filter Kit, Transfer Flow 56 gal tank, 110 gallon in-bed tank, XX-Fuel System, Coolant Bypass Kit, Mag-Hytec front & rear, 285 x 70 x 17

We the people are the rightful masters of both Congress and the courts, not to overthrow the Constitution but to overthrow the men who pervert the Constitution.
~ Abraham Lincoln
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-18-2016, 03:10 PM
Rogan's Avatar
Rogan Rogan is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Virginia
Posts: 164
Default

PLease don't "bandaid" it with a noise suppressor.. As stated, 99% of the time, either the antenna has come loose from the radio, or antenna grounding for the symptoms you describe.

Even if the alt was creating noise, the station would be strong, but covered up by "whining".
If you scan stations when it's acting up, does it find them, or just scan across the freq channel?
__________________
SOLD: 96 2500 sclb 4x4, 5spd swap, cam, stack, #10, bhaf, 16.5*, 27mpg
SOLD: 01 2500 qcsb 4x4 HO 6spd, 2" level, 5" exh., Edge Juice, bhaf, 16mpg
SOLD: 97 3500 cc-drw, built 47re, 3 disk, 4" exh., #100, bhaf, gauges
SOLD: 02 QCSB 2500 4x4 5.9-auto
SOLD: 97 ECLB 2500 4x4 V10-auto.. junk..
CURRENT:'06 2500 ThunderRoad QCSB 5.9CTD 4x4, built Auto; '02 Silverado 2500HD 6.0L CrewCab LB 4x4; '14 vw cc r-line 2.0t 6 speed

NRA Member
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-18-2016, 10:59 PM
kerley kerley is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 145
Default OEM Radio

Rogan,
Mine is the AM/FM Stereo Radio with Graphic Equalizer, Cassette Player and CD Player. The CD and Cassette Player work as they should. All four speakers work fine. The problem is tuning into stations of my choice, possibly the Scan and Radio Station Buttons need to be reset but I suspect the Antenna should be replaced. I need to read the Cummins Owners Manual and figure it out.
I appreciate everyones input and help, God bless you all.

Last edited by kerley; 04-18-2016 at 11:02 PM. Reason: forgot to type in Rogan
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Skin & Style Created By: Mopar1973Man.Com
Copyright 2012 Diesel Truck Site