The Diesel Truck Site  

Go Back   The Diesel Truck Site > Diesel Truck Forums > Dodge Cummins Forum

Dodge Cummins Forum Dodge Cummins Forum


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 07-24-2013, 07:16 AM
MnTom's Avatar
MnTom MnTom is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Near Duluth, Mn
Posts: 4,912
Default

Watching the EGTs really isn't hard, but compared to what you had it will take a bit to get used to. I got confidence in you Dave!! You won't have any problems.
__________________
1996 RAM "Custom Ground" 100 plate 3/4 forward, 300 injectors, 16.5 timing, Goerends Auto = 365HP, 833TQ Third Gen Rims, Aluminum Headache Rack
Duct Tape can't fix stupid, BUT it can muffle the sound
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 07-25-2013, 10:29 PM
dripley dripley is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 83
Default

I got faith too. I usually watch my gauges almost as much as I check my mirrors, but never had to watch one to be sure I did not exceed a certain level. Except the fuel pressure gauge, then for the low side. It will be interesting.
__________________
2002 qclb 6 speed banks ottomind banks e brake rv 275's 4"ex turbo back BHAF
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 07-26-2013, 09:09 AM
Mopar1973Man's Avatar
Mopar1973Man Mopar1973Man is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: New Meadows, Idaho
Posts: 902
Default

I never was fond of the amplified pyrometer gauges. Like my old DiPricol works without any power source at all. Solely powered my the probe itself no 12V needed at all. The only thing that hooks up to 12V is the illumination.
__________________
Michael Nelson - AKA: Mopar1973Man - Forum & Articles
2002 Dodge Ram 2500, 5.9L Cummins Turbo Diesel, 5 Speed NV4500 transmission, 4x4, 3.55 Gears, AirDog 150 fuel pump with 1/2" Big Line Kit, Stock Bosch VP44 Injection Pump, Bosch RV275 Injectors +40HP, Edge Comp Performance Box, BHAF (Big Honkin' Air Filter), Stock Holset HX35W Turbo, Straight 3" Pipe Exhaust, Crankcase Vent Mod, High Idle Mod, MPG / IAT fooler Mod, ScanGauge II, 25% Tinted Windows, DiPricol Gauges (Fuel pressure, Boost, Pyrometer), 235/85 R16 tires mounted on 16x7 Aluminum mags (weighing 62#), Custom Fog Lights, Custom Backup lights, Silverstar Headlights, 23-24 MPG

1996 Dodge Ram 1500, 5.9L Magnum V8 Gasoline Engine, 46RE Automatic Transmission, 4WD with CAD axle with 3.55 Gears, Mopar Performance PCM, Gutted Kitty, ScanGauge II, 35% Tinted Windows, 16-17 MPG

Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 08-04-2013, 09:35 PM
dripley dripley is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 83
Default

Well I made my trip. It was uneventful at the worst. Tried to stay 65 or less and managed that pretty well. The truck handled the load very well. First time I have driven with just the rv 275's for a power mod. I had to down shift more than with the Banks, had alot of mountain to go thru. I was also trying to keep my foot out of it to keep the boost and egt in check. I did get a new set of gauges but never had time to install any of them before leaving. They came as a package from Vulcan and I choose a 3 gauge pod that mounts on the dash center right at the wind shield. I put the gauges in it an set it in place and they are very visible and easy to read. Still toying with this idea though, cutting a hole in my brand new dash pad is not something I am sure I want to do.
__________________
2002 qclb 6 speed banks ottomind banks e brake rv 275's 4"ex turbo back BHAF
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 08-05-2013, 07:05 AM
MnTom's Avatar
MnTom MnTom is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Near Duluth, Mn
Posts: 4,912
Default

Well, you made it! As long as you use common sense and don't lug the crap out of your truck it should do OK, but I still prefer gauges. How big of a hole do you need for your pod? I would want the pod to be right in front of me and possibly there is a way to use the defrost hole to bring the wires through?
__________________
1996 RAM "Custom Ground" 100 plate 3/4 forward, 300 injectors, 16.5 timing, Goerends Auto = 365HP, 833TQ Third Gen Rims, Aluminum Headache Rack
Duct Tape can't fix stupid, BUT it can muffle the sound
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 08-05-2013, 10:13 PM
dripley dripley is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 83
Default

The defrost whole might be a temporary option just to see how I like it. probably need a 3/4" hole minimum to get it all thru. They were very visible in the center. The holes for the gauges are tilted toward the driver. It attaches via one of the screws that hold the dash in place. I might slide it to the left and see what it looks like there. I just know I aint cutting a hole in that dash pad unless it turns out I like better than the a pillar. might eve run them around the dash just to see how I like it.

I really wanted to hook up at least the pyro, but after 12 hour days I did not have much left in me in the evenings. I did hook the thermo couple straight to the gauge and it read about 150 at idle and I saw go just over 600* a few times. Here is to hoping it was not more than 100% off.
__________________
2002 qclb 6 speed banks ottomind banks e brake rv 275's 4"ex turbo back BHAF
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 08-06-2013, 07:08 AM
MnTom's Avatar
MnTom MnTom is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Near Duluth, Mn
Posts: 4,912
Default

I kind of like the gauges on the A pillar, but they do cause a bit of a visibility issue. Maybe on the dash will be good, but the only one to make that decision is you. Try putting the gauges into the pod and place it in different places to see what you think. I am like you though, I wouldn't want to drill a hole in my dash pad either (and mine is original!!).
Was the 150* you saw idling with the old pyro and new gauge? That sounds awfully low. You should see about 550* to 600* running down the road cruising empty.
__________________
1996 RAM "Custom Ground" 100 plate 3/4 forward, 300 injectors, 16.5 timing, Goerends Auto = 365HP, 833TQ Third Gen Rims, Aluminum Headache Rack
Duct Tape can't fix stupid, BUT it can muffle the sound
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 08-06-2013, 08:01 AM
stodg73's Avatar
stodg73 stodg73 is offline
Out There, Savin' Lives
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Southern Colorado
Posts: 2,321
Default

My gauge starts to register at 200* at idle, and I know that the temps are somewhere near there at idle. Tom is right, you are the only one who can decide to where put the pod.
__________________
O.O., 01.5, Dodge, 2500, High Output (H.O.) Cummins Turbo Diesel (245/505), Quad Cab Long Bed (QCLB), 4x4, Sport, Original Bosch VP 44 Injection Pump, 6 Speed/NV5600 Transmission, 3.55 Gears, 105k, currently stock engine, Fram Air Filter, 285/75R16s, Glow Shift Gauges: Fuel Pressure (FP), Boost, Exhaust Gas Temperature (EGT), Oil Temperature, SMARTY@1, Airtex lift pump 19 psi @ idle, 14 psi @ WOT, Propane Injection, 2 Stroke Oil, Intake Air Temperature (IAT) Fooler = Better MPG, Bed Lined, Chrome Nerf Bars, more to come!!

Toys:
'79 CJ5, 258ci, 3" lift, 33x12.50x15, Stock Engine and 3 Speed Tranny
'05 Suzuki, GSX1300R, Hayabusa, All Stock, #3('00 blown engine, '00 stolen, & '05)
The complete live & learn and pass it on by H. Jackson Brown, Jr.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 08-06-2013, 08:27 AM
dripley dripley is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 83
Default

I like in the pillar too, just thought i would try something a little different. Putting a hole in the dash is what I am not liking about it.

I was seeing 125 to 150 at idle. 625* pulling a decent grade in 6th right before downshifting to 5th. This was on the old TC and the old gauge. I know they were way off, but it was all I had. I would normally see about 650 to 750 on flat ground with the 5th wheel and get it to 1100 maybe 1200 pulling a hard grade. 1200 to 1250 is the most I hae ever seen with the Banks tuner on it. The tuner would de fuel to keep the temp in check, which was fine with me
__________________
2002 qclb 6 speed banks ottomind banks e brake rv 275's 4"ex turbo back BHAF
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 08-06-2013, 09:39 AM
MnTom's Avatar
MnTom MnTom is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Near Duluth, Mn
Posts: 4,912
Default

Mine at the low end of the gauge is not real accurate. Even running empty it has a hard time getting below 400* unless I let it idle for about 2 min. I normally see about 800* towing my fiver and have a difficult time getting the needle over about 1200* unless I have a boost leak (I know from experience).
__________________
1996 RAM "Custom Ground" 100 plate 3/4 forward, 300 injectors, 16.5 timing, Goerends Auto = 365HP, 833TQ Third Gen Rims, Aluminum Headache Rack
Duct Tape can't fix stupid, BUT it can muffle the sound
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
egt gauge, gauge wiring

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Skin & Style Created By: Mopar1973Man.Com
Copyright 2012 Diesel Truck Site