The Diesel Truck Site  

Go Back   The Diesel Truck Site > Diesel Truck Forums > Dodge Cummins Forum

Dodge Cummins Forum Dodge Cummins Forum


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-04-2013, 10:05 AM
nativex nativex is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Gahanna, OH
Posts: 10
Default Crank positioning sensor

I have a 95 5.9 Cummins with 98 PCM an harness in a 99 3500 AT 4x4, the gauges in my cluster work with the exception of my tach. I've cleaned the harmonic, the sensor an re gapped it. Should I go with a 98 sensor or is there something I'm missing because the units a alike. thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-04-2013, 10:13 AM
MnTom's Avatar
MnTom MnTom is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Near Duluth, Mn
Posts: 4,931
Default

I take it this is a 12V and you used the PCM out of the donor truck? What gap did you use for the crank sensor? It is supposed to be about .050, or about the thickness of a matchbook cover. If that is fine then check the wiring above the sensor near the top of the engine. That is a known problem area. Also, do you have the '99 dash with the '98 PCM? If so isn't the '99 tach run but the ECM instead of the PCM?
__________________
1996 RAM "Custom Ground" 100 plate 3/4 forward, 300 injectors, 16.5 timing, Goerends Auto = 365HP, 833TQ Third Gen Rims, Aluminum Headache Rack
Duct Tape can't fix stupid, BUT it can muffle the sound
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-04-2013, 10:28 AM
nativex nativex is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Gahanna, OH
Posts: 10
Default

Thanks. Yeah the gap is good, there are no nicks in the wire but the sensor is also original on the 95 motor. I did haft to wire the sensor to the 98 harness and dint see a difference in wire colors.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-04-2013, 10:51 AM
nativex nativex is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Gahanna, OH
Posts: 10
Default

Thanks. Yeah the gap is good, there are no nicks in the wire but the sensor is also original on the 95 motor. I did haft to wire the sensor to the 98 harness and dint see a difference in wire colors.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-04-2013, 10:54 AM
nativex nativex is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Gahanna, OH
Posts: 10
Default

PS, I have absolutely 0 mod's done to this truck other than the trans! Deff need that advise!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-04-2013, 12:36 PM
MnTom's Avatar
MnTom MnTom is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Near Duluth, Mn
Posts: 4,931
Default

So, which PCM are you running? Far as mods to the engine where do you think you want to be power wise?
__________________
1996 RAM "Custom Ground" 100 plate 3/4 forward, 300 injectors, 16.5 timing, Goerends Auto = 365HP, 833TQ Third Gen Rims, Aluminum Headache Rack
Duct Tape can't fix stupid, BUT it can muffle the sound
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-04-2013, 03:44 PM
nativex nativex is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Gahanna, OH
Posts: 10
Default

The 98 PCM, stock ECM, stock panel.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-04-2013, 07:06 PM
MnTom's Avatar
MnTom MnTom is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Near Duluth, Mn
Posts: 4,931
Default

A 12V does not use an ECM, but the tach should be run by the PCM. Did you get all the other gauges working with the '98 PCM?
__________________
1996 RAM "Custom Ground" 100 plate 3/4 forward, 300 injectors, 16.5 timing, Goerends Auto = 365HP, 833TQ Third Gen Rims, Aluminum Headache Rack
Duct Tape can't fix stupid, BUT it can muffle the sound
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Skin & Style Created By: Mopar1973Man.Com
Copyright 2012 Diesel Truck Site